I left my AC Compressor in Upper Lake, CA

4 Jul

What is the feeling when you’re driving away from people, and they recede on the plain till you see their specks dispersing? -it’s the too huge world vaulting us, and it’s good-bye. But we lean forward to the next crazy venture beneath the skies.”- Kerouac

Happy Birthday Amerikuh- but more importantly Happy Birthday Nanny! Although she is not here with any of us she is definitely here in spirit. Her memory lives on through all the gaudy, flashy American flag shirts and outfits, earrings, and decorations. She loved the 4th of July and any chance to dress up in sparkly clothing and accessories. I miss you everyday.

As the farming part of the trip comes to an end I feel less and less motivated to blog. The focus right now is to enjoy the last month of being on the road free from the constraints of mainstream society and the job market. Our plan is to leave Arizona (our current location) on Thursday to see the Grand Canyon- apparently its big or something. We then head through New Mexico and Texas to our 3rd to last destination on the trip- Fayetteville, Arkansas. Next we are on our way to Marietta, GA to see my family and friends grab the stuff that we didn’t take (thank God we didn’t) and head back to New Jersey.

So much has happened since I last blogged, the ups and downs have continued and the locations have consistently changed. I think the best way to do this would be to show you pictures of what has happened since my last blog.

I am not signing off, this probably won’t be my last blog or anything but I want to take the time to thank everyone who has taken the time to keep up with our travels. It has been an awesome learning experience for me both in the farming sense and in the self-discovery sense. I hope you enjoyed reading about it. I also want to apologize for not being completely honest with you. Looking back through my blogs I realized that I made the trip sound care-free and easy. Yeah you heard about our share of problems- broken windows, new car parts, Avett Brothers cancelations and so on- but even those seemed to have an air of humor surrounding them. Truth is, it is a lot harder to write about the true emotions that one experiences on a trip like this. The lowest of lows, the hot afternoons in the fields, meeting people and realizing you don’t know as much as you thought you did about things, discovering you don’t have everything figured out as you once thought, missing people on the east coast, crying then laughing, arguments with your best friend, the anger you feel towards politics, food systems, and government BS, making friends and saying good-bye, and finding out your true weaknesses. I apologize again for the serious nature of this blog but this was my attempt to be more honest with you. This trip was amazing and I would suggest it to anyone and everyone no matter what age.

Whoo that was intense…here are some pictures to lighten the load….

We went to the West Coast

We saw some breweries, Redwoods, and sea glass…..

look ma!

We went to Las Vegas—as Thurston said “they call it Lost Wages- but you don’t have any haha”

the lady taking the picture was confusing us...can you tell

We saw the Hoover Dam and beat the heat at lake havasu AZ

the Monkey Wrench Gang would be pissed!

london bridges falling down? I sure hope not.

it got close to 120…yikes

Thats all for now. More pics to come in person.

Grace- we have been through a lot (thats two words, right?) together, thanks for having this experience with me.

And I couldn’t choose between two Kerouac quotes…so here is one more..

My fault, my failure, is not in the passions I have, but in my lack of control of them.” — its blue and I don’t care. Wise words from the road.

Leave a Reply

